What are the Vedas?

purpose of scriptures

Vedas are divided into 4 sections: (1) Rig Veda, (2) Yajur Veda, (3) Sāma Veda, (4) Atharva Veda.

Each each section is further divided into 2 parts.

Part 1 called “karma-kāṇḍa“.

Part 2 is called “jñāna-kāṇḍa“.

Karma-kanda deals with rituals and prayers. Basically, how to live a happy, harmonious, smooth and clean life.

Jñāna-kanda deals with realities – nature of Self, God and World you experience every day. How they're interconnected. What's their relationship. Whether there's any difference between them. And how is everything one, when you experience two-ness (differences). This knowledge liberates the person permanently.

Of course assuming, (1) listeners mind is sufficiently purified for receptivity (2) teacher lives-understands this knowledge and has been properly taught how to teach (3) your desire for liberation is burning – above all else.

Teachings contained within Jñāna-kanda is in form of dialogue between teacher-student.

See visual map of Veda's and structure of major Upaniṣad/Śruti texts in these 2 charts: 1 | 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *