Posts by Andre V

Objectivity vs Subjectivity in Light of Vedanta

Purpose of this article is to bring light to an uninvestigated pillar in the spiritual world (irrespective of Religion, philosophy). It’s largely fault for one’s spiritual stagnation, inconsistent relationships with the other (Objects, people, etc) – and disharmony with one’s own existence. Either way, as long as this issue remains uncorrected – Freedom/Liberation (mokṣa) is impossible.…

Read More

Inquiry Into Various Vedanta Definitions

subtle body, mind, intellect, antakarana

THE MATERIAL UNIVERSE Something cannot come from nothing. This material universe evolved out of consciousness. Consciousness is both the substance of which the creation is made and the intelligence that shapes its names and forms. Just as the spider is both the substance of its web and the intelligence that shapes it. Consciousness operates the…

Read More

Brief Introduction to 3 Gunas


The creation comes into existence with the emergence of the 3 guṇas: Sattva, Tamas and Rajas. Sattva is intelligence and knowledge. Ttamas is a heavy dense energy. It’s matter, the substance of the creation. Rajas is the dynamic active energy. It creates/sustains/destroys objects using Sattva (All knowledge) combined with Tamas (matter/material). In fact, they all…

Read More

What is Significance of ‘Namaste’


In India, many greet each other with the word “Namaste” – this is joined usually by a slight bow and palms touching in front, sort of like a prayer gesture. Namaste means literally “I bow to you”. But the way it’s used, or the meaning behind it is “I bow to God (Īśvara) in you”…

Read More

Original Purpose of Vegetarianism According to Vedic Culture


Vegetarianism is an example of the application of the value for ahimsa (non-injury). Many arguments in favour of a vegetarian diet can be made, but the basic argument supporting non-flesh eating is simply ahimsa. In India, where there are more vegetarians than anywhere else in the world, vegetarianism is based on this value alone. Why…

Read More

What’s It Like to Live the Vision of Non-Dual ONENESS?

Living non-duality according to Vedanta

When one realizes oneself to be unborn-ordinary-actionless-non-dual Awareness… and that Awareness (Ātman/Brahman) is everything that is… it does not mean that the world (jagat) suddenly goes “poof” into a whirlpool of nothingness. The world remains, but with the understanding that there is nothing real (substantial) to it. In other words one no longer gets fooled.…

Read More

Beauty and Logic of Living Life as Karma Yogi

Selfish life VS Life of Karma Yoga

“Now listen to the wisdom of yoga which will free you from bondage to action. In this yoga, no effort is wasted, nor are any unsuitable results produced. Even very little karma yoga protects one from great fear.” ~ Bhagavad Gītā Karma yoga is the “mothership” for qualifying and preparing the mind for Liberation. Irrespective of the type of activity you perform, it’s…

Read More

What is Advaita Vedanta About?

Dakṣiṇāmūrti Vedanta

“The fire of certainty which is the result of knowing Onself as immaculate Awareness, burns down the entire forest of ignorance. The eradication of ignorance and the dawning of happiness are one event.” – Aṣṭāvakra Gītā What is Advaita Vedanta Philosophy? (Brief) Total freedom, total confidence and total satisfaction. This is the fruit of Vedanta, a proven methodology that…

Read More

Existence (Brahman/Ātman/Awareness) is Beginingless and Endless…

Existence (Brahman/Ātman/Awareness) is beginingless and endless. Thus, the notion of “Today I’m enlightened“, implies “Yesterday, I wasn’t“. Which contradicts THAT which is beginingless/endless. What’s more, such thoughts are subject to Time. Meaning anything that BEGINS in time has an inevitable ENDING in time. Common sense. So what’s the solution – if mokṣa (Freedom) is beyond…

Read More

What are the Vedas?

Vedas are divided into 4 sections: (1) Rig Veda, (2) Yajur Veda, (3) Sāma Veda, (4) Atharva Veda. Each each section is further divided into 2 parts. Part 1 called “karma-kāṇḍa“. Part 2 is called “jñāna-kāṇḍa“. Karma-kanda deals with rituals and prayers. Basically, how to live a happy, harmonious, smooth and clean life. Jñāna-kanda deals with…

Read More