Objectivity vs Subjectivity in Light of Vedanta

By Andre V | January 15, 2019

Purpose of this article is to bring light to an uninvestigated pillar in the spiritual world (irrespective of Religion, philosophy). It’s largely fault for one’s spiritual stagnation, inconsistent relationships with the other (Objects, people, etc) – and disharmony with one’s own existence. Either way, as long as this issue remains uncorrected – Freedom/Liberation (mokṣa) is impossible.…

subtle body, mind, intellect, antakarana

Inquiry Into Various Vedanta Definitions

By Andre V | January 5, 2019

THE MATERIAL UNIVERSE Something cannot come from nothing. This material universe evolved out of consciousness. Consciousness is both the substance of which the creation is made and the intelligence that shapes its names and forms. Just as the spider is both the substance of its web and the intelligence that shapes it. Consciousness operates the…


Brief Introduction to 3 Gunas

By Andre V | December 29, 2018

The creation comes into existence with the emergence of the 3 guṇas: Sattva, Tamas and Rajas. Sattva is intelligence and knowledge. Ttamas is a heavy dense energy. It’s matter, the substance of the creation. Rajas is the dynamic active energy. It creates/sustains/destroys objects using Sattva (All knowledge) combined with Tamas (matter/material). In fact, they all…


What is Significance of ‘Namaste’

By Andre V | December 15, 2018

In India, many greet each other with the word “Namaste” – this is joined usually by a slight bow and palms touching in front, sort of like a prayer gesture. Namaste means literally “I bow to you”. But the way it’s used, or the meaning behind it is “I bow to God (Īśvara) in you”…


Original Purpose of Vegetarianism According to Vedic Culture

By Andre V | November 22, 2018

Vegetarianism is an example of the application of the value for ahimsa (non-injury). Many arguments in favour of a vegetarian diet can be made, but the basic argument supporting non-flesh eating is simply ahimsa. In India, where there are more vegetarians than anywhere else in the world, vegetarianism is based on this value alone. Why…

Living non-duality according to Vedanta

What’s It Like to Live the Vision of Non-Dual ONENESS?

By Andre V | November 5, 2018

When one realizes oneself to be unborn-ordinary-actionless-non-dual Awareness… and that Awareness (Ātman/Brahman) is everything that is… it does not mean that the world (jagat) suddenly goes “poof” into a whirlpool of nothingness. The world remains, but with the understanding that there is nothing real (substantial) to it. In other words one no longer gets fooled.…

Selfish life VS Life of Karma Yoga

Beauty and Logic of Living Life as Karma Yogi

By Andre V | October 25, 2018

“Now listen to the wisdom of yoga which will free you from bondage to action. In this yoga, no effort is wasted, nor are any unsuitable results produced. Even very little karma yoga protects one from great fear.” ~ Bhagavad Gītā Karma yoga is the “mothership” for qualifying and preparing the mind for Liberation. Irrespective of the type of activity you perform, it’s…

Dakṣiṇāmūrti Vedanta

What is Advaita Vedanta About?

By Andre V | October 24, 2018

“The fire of certainty which is the result of knowing Onself as immaculate Awareness, burns down the entire forest of ignorance. The eradication of ignorance and the dawning of happiness are one event.” – Aṣṭāvakra Gītā What is Advaita Vedanta Philosophy? (Brief) Total freedom, total confidence and total satisfaction. This is the fruit of Vedanta, a proven methodology that…

Existence (Brahman/Ātman/Awareness) is Beginingless and Endless…

By Andre V | October 15, 2018

Existence (Brahman/Ātman/Awareness) is beginingless and endless. Thus, the notion of “Today I’m enlightened“, implies “Yesterday, I wasn’t“. Which contradicts THAT which is beginingless/endless. What’s more, such thoughts are subject to Time. Meaning anything that BEGINS in time has an inevitable ENDING in time. Common sense. So what’s the solution – if mokṣa (Freedom) is beyond…

What are the Vedas?

By Andre V | October 10, 2018

Vedas are divided into 4 sections: (1) Rig Veda, (2) Yajur Veda, (3) Sāma Veda, (4) Atharva Veda. Each each section is further divided into 2 parts. Part 1 called “karma-kāṇḍa“. Part 2 is called “jñāna-kāṇḍa“. Karma-kanda deals with rituals and prayers. Basically, how to live a happy, harmonious, smooth and clean life. Jñāna-kanda deals with…